Classic Dragon Quest Titles Coming to Switch

Monday, September 16th, 2019

Support VenusBlood GAIA International!

Look for us on OpenCritic!

Share this page

Pre Order How a Healthy Hentai Administers Public Service at MangaGamer

Revisit the oldest and greatest Visual Novel Forum, now under new leadership!

We are proudly a Play-Asia Partner


Ads support the website by covering server and domain costs. We're just a group of gamers here, like you, doing what we love to do: playing video games and bringing y'all niche goodness. So, if you like what we do and want to help us out, make an exception by turning off AdBlock for our website. In return, we promise to keep intrusive ads, such as pop-ups, off oprainfall. Thanks, everyone!



In a press release today put out by Square Enix they’ve announced the release date of three upcoming classic Dragon Quest games making their way to the Nintendo Switch. Dubbed the “Erdrick Trilogy”, the mythical figure in Dragon Quest in which many of the games heroes is descended from, this list includes the first three installments in the series: Dragon Quest, Dragon Quest II: Luminaries of the Legendary Line, and Dragon Quest III: The Seeds of Salvation.

I’m sure many of you are aware of Dragon Quest’s legacy. The games are classics that helped define the JRPG genre. The original game came out back in 1986, with the second one following a year later in 1987, and finally the third game in 1988. All for the Famicom/Nintendo Entertainment System. All of these games have been remade a few times, including for the Super Famicom which were never released outside of Japan. However, the Game Boy Color remakes did reach a wider audience.

The Erdrick Trilogy will launch on Nintendo Switch September 27th as separate titles on the eShop and with different price points: Dragon Quest will be $4.99, Dragon Quest II: Luminaries of the Legendary Line will be $6.49, and Dragon Quest III: The Seeds of Salvation will be $12.49.

SOURCE: Press Release


About Aaron Evangelisti

Aaron is a lifelong video games enthusiast who's been playing since the days of the NES. He enjoys just about all types of games from RPGs, to platformers, to strategy. He also fancies himself a bit of a writer so writing about video games makes sense, right?