Hang on to Your Hat, a Super Mario 64 Jazz Album is Here

Friday, May 8th, 2020

Tokyo NECRO is out now from JAST

Look for us on OpenCritic!

Share this page

Pre Order How a Healthy Hentai Administers Public Service at MangaGamer

Revisit the oldest and greatest Visual Novel Forum, now under new leadership!

Trending Posts

We are proudly a Play-Asia Partner


Ads support the website by covering server and domain costs. We're just a group of gamers here, like you, doing what we love to do: playing video games and bringing y'all niche goodness. So, if you like what we do and want to help us out, make an exception by turning off AdBlock for our website. In return, we promise to keep intrusive ads, such as pop-ups, off oprainfall. Thanks, everyone!


oprainfall | Hang on to Your Hat


Materia Collective has assembled a big jazz orchestra from some renowned talent out of Nashville. The goal of the Video Game Jazz Orchestra is to cover video game music soundtracks, and their debut is a Super Mario 64 album titled Hang on to Your Hat. As you may know, the music of Super Mario 64 was originally composed by the legendary Koji Kondo, of Nintendo. Hang on to Your Hat was produced by lead arranger David Russell, plus a team of other very skilled arrangers. The album is licensed and you can get it now from a number of different store fronts. Here is the track list:

01. Hang on to Your Hat
02. File Select
03. Inside the Castle Walls
04. Bob-Omb Battlefield
05. Jolly Roger Bay
06. Stage Boss
07. Bowser in the Dark World
08. Dire Dire Docks
09. Koopa’s Road
10. Koopa Battle
11. Ultimate Koopa


There is also a Hang on to Your Hat music video:


Lead arranger, David Russell, has commented on the creation of this debut album for the Video Game Jazz Orchestra:
“Koji Kondo’s foundational work for the field of videogame music in his Super Mario 64 soundtrack was already ripe with opportunity to be reimagined in the jazz idiom. We thought there was no better time to celebrate these game music standards with these storied and incredibly diverse arrangements. Each of the arrangers on this album are at the top of their game, beautifully walking the line between honoring the original pieces and elevating them in a way that’s never been heard before.”

About Michael Fontanini

Michael is a veteran gamer in his late 30s, who grew up around video games, with fond memories of the oldies like the NES, SNES, and N64 among others. He loves Nintendo, but also plays a lot of games on his PC. Michael also enjoys going for walks/bike rides, loves animals, and enjoys thunderstorms (and science in general).

I love Nintendo but I also play a lot of game's on PC, many of which are on steam. My favorite Nintendo game's include Zelda, Metroid, and Smash Bros to name a few. On PC I love the Half-Life games, as well as most all of the Source Engine games just to name a few.