Hell Girl Returns with a New Season

Wednesday, March 1st, 2017

Buy You and Me and Her on JAST USA

Share this page

We are proudly a Play-Asia Partner


Ads support the website by covering server and domain costs. We're just a group of gamers here, like you, doing what we love to do: playing video games and bringing y'all niche goodness. So, if you like what we do and want to help us out, make an exception by turning off AdBlock for our website. In return, we promise to keep intrusive ads, such as pop-ups, off oprainfall. Thanks, everyone!


Hell Girl

Hell Girl is returning for 12 more episodes. The new season will be titled Jigoku Shojo Yoi no Togi. The new season will be split in two, the other half of the season being dedicated to “reminiscence” episodes.

The original director who worked on season one and Hell Girl: Two Mirrors, Takahiro Omori, is returning to direct. Several original staff members are returning, including:

  • Mariko Oka: Character Designs
  • Kenichi Kanemaki: Series Composition
  • Yasuharu Takanashi: Music

The same can be said about the cast as well, though the role of Michiru has been replaced:

  • Mamiko Noto: Ai Enma
  • Takayuki Sugo: Wanyuudou
  • Takako Honda: Hone-Onna
  • Masaya Matsukaze: Ren Ichimoku
  • Hekiru Shiina: Yamawaro
  • Kanako Sakai: Kikuri
  • Misaki Watada: Michiru

Studio DEEN will once again animate the series. The new season premieres in July.

Hell Girl originally premiered back in 2005 and ran for three seasons. Funimation and Sentai Filmworks released previous seasons in North America.


About Tyler Trosper

Tyler Trosper graduated Ball State University with a major in Creative Writing and a minor in Professional Writing. Originally joining Operation Rainfall as an anime news writer, he also writes gaming news and dabbles in reviews. His one true love in life is Xenosaga, and he prays daily for a fourth game.