07th Expansion Details Next When They Cry Installment

Friday, December 30th, 2016

Share this page

We are proudly a Play-Asia Partner


Ads support the website by covering server and domain costs. We're just a group of gamers here, like you, doing what we love to do: playing video games and bringing y'all niche goodness. So, if you like what we do and want to help us out, make an exception by turning off AdBlock for our website. In return, we promise to keep intrusive ads, such as pop-ups, off oprainfall. Thanks, everyone!



Ryukishi07, a dōjin suspense game maker, and the creator of the When They Cry series, has revealed new information on the official 07th Expansion Twitter account. He tweeted on Friday that he is planning to release the next entry in the Naku Koro ni (When they Cry) series sometime in 2017. He also stated that he is planning to make the new entry “completely different” from the previous Higurashi no Naku Koro ni (Higurashi: When They Cry) and Umineko no Naku Koro ni (Umineko – When They Cry).

Back in 2002, 07th Expansion released the first chapter of the Higurashi: When They Cry visual novel at Comiket. It’s story centers around a series of murders that coincide with a quiet, rural village’s annual festival. It inspired two TV anime series, manga interpretations by several artists, a few video anime projects, as well as a live-action TV series and two live-action films.

When They Cry


Umineko no Naku Koro ni (Umineko – When They Cry) would follow in its predecessor’s footsteps to a degree in 2007, when it debuted at Comiket. Further following in those footsteps, it also inspired a TV anime and a manga. This time the story involves 18 people landing on a remote island known as Rokkenjima. It is October 1986 when a cluster of murders breaks the peace.

When They Cry


In 2009, the original Higurashi no Naku Koro ni visual novel landed on MangaGamer, after the company licensed the rights to translate the franchise. Since then, they’ve been releasing remastered versions of all Higurashi no Naku Koro ni releases. They’re being released as 14 chapters and also include some new and previously unreleased content.  They just released the fourth chapter, Higurashi: When They Cry Hou – Ch 4, on Steam back in October.

Back in July 2016, Umineko – When They Cry -Question Arcs- was released on MangaGamer as well.  And later on, in October, they announced plans to release the Golden Fantasia CROSS fighting game spinoff, too.




About Michael Fontanini

Michael is a veteran gamer in my early 30s, who grew up around video games, with fond memories of the oldies like the NES and SNES. He loves Nintendo but also plays a lot of games on his PC. Michael also enjoys going for walks or bike rides, and loves animals.

Michael is also a computer programmer. This started with a toy he got as a kid called PreComputer 1000 that was made by V-Tech. It had a simple programming mode which is what started him down the road of being a programmer! Michael can program in BASIC, Visual Basic, C++, C#, and is familiar with Java and Lua Script.

Putting programming and gaming together, Michael became a hobbyist game developer which may give him some good insights on game development! Most recently, he has been playing with the free version of the Unity engine (a powerful and easy-to-use game engine).

I love Nintendo but I also play a lot of game's on PC, many of which are on steam. My favorite Nintendo game's include Zelda, Metroid, and Smash Bros to name a few. On PC I love the Half-Life games, as well as most all of the Source Engine games just to name a few.