Sonic & Thunder Force IV Launch SEGA Ages Brand This August

Wednesday, July 18th, 2018

Tokyo NECRO is out now from JAST

Look for us on OpenCritic!

Share this page

Pre Order How a Healthy Hentai Administers Public Service at MangaGamer

Revisit the oldest and greatest Visual Novel Forum, now under new leadership!

We are proudly a Play-Asia Partner


Ads support the website by covering server and domain costs. We're just a group of gamers here, like you, doing what we love to do: playing video games and bringing y'all niche goodness. So, if you like what we do and want to help us out, make an exception by turning off AdBlock for our website. In return, we promise to keep intrusive ads, such as pop-ups, off oprainfall. Thanks, everyone!


The first two titles to launch with the Sega Ages line on Switch will be Sonic the Hedgehog and Thunder Force IV. Both titles will be priced at 999 yen in Japan this August, with future titles like Phantasy Star and Alex Kidd to follow in the future.

While PlayStation 4 and Xbox One saw the 50 game-strong Sega Genesis Collection this spring, Nintendo Switch is the exclusive benefactor of SEGA Ages, a digital re-release series developed by M2 of classic Sega Genesis games. Besides remastered visuals upscaled for HD, other new undisclosed features will be incorporated. Other platforms for the service, including the Sega Saturn and Dreamcast, have been hinted towards depending on fan demand.

Sega plans on re-issuing 15 games through the Sega Ages line-up thus far. There’s no telling when this new line of re-releases will hit North America or Europe or what titles will inaugurate the brand in the west, but stay tuned for further classic SEGA developments.

About Alex Irish

When he's not writing about games, Alex Irish is an illustrator and animation expert. His favorite gaming franchise is Pokémon, full-stop, but his favorite game of all time is Resident Evil 4. He attended the first-ever IGN House Party and is a five-time attendee of the Ottowa International Animation Festival.