Rewrite+ trailer image

Rewrite Anime | Key Visual

The official website for the Rewrite anime series announced on Saturday that the series will run for a single season with 13 episodes. The anime will receive home release through seven DVD and Blu-ray volumes, with the first including the hour-long first episode on September 28, 2016. The other releases will each contain two episodes.

Each release will be packaged in a box featuring three-sided artwork by the character designer for the original visual novel Itaru Hinoue, as well as a digipak with special artwork by Masayuki Nonaka, the character designer for the anime series. The first, second, fifth, and sixth releases will include special CDs, with the third including a collection of setting documents.

The fourth home release, set to come out on December 21, will include a special PC game, titled “PC game vol. 1”. The new game will be written by Ryukishi07, the writer for the Lucia route in the initial game, and better known as one of the founders of 07th Expansion and the original writer for the When They Cry series.

Rewrite will air in Japan on Tokyo MX, Tochigi TV, Gunma TV, MBS, and BS11, starting with a special double-length episode on July 2. No English networks have announced intent to simulcast the series as of yet.


Chris Melchin
Chris is a computer science student who has been gaming ever since he knew what to do with a Super Nintendo controller. He's a fighting game player, with a focus on BlazBlue and Under Night In-Birth games. His favourite games include Xenoblade Chronicles 2, Persona 5, and Little Busters. He started watching anime in high school, and his favourite series is Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood. He also writes Vocaloid music for his personal YouTube channel, and has a (slight) obsession with Megurine Luka.