Splatoon Focused Nintendo Direct In(K)oming on May 7th

Thursday, April 30th, 2015

Share this page

We are proudly a Play-Asia Partner

SUPPORT OPRAINFALL BY TURNING OFF ADBLOCK

Ads support the website by covering server and domain costs. We're just a group of gamers here, like you, doing what we love to do: playing video games and bringing y'all niche goodness. So, if you like what we do and want to help us out, make an exception by turning off AdBlock for our website. In return, we promise to keep intrusive ads, such as pop-ups, off oprainfall. Thanks, everyone!

By


Splatoon

InKoming. Get it?

What with E3 2015 getting ever closer, it seems Nintendo are upping the ante when it comes to their showcasing. Following their April 1st, and last weeks Xenoblade Chronicles X Directs, Nintendo have announced – via twitter – that a Splatoon focused Direct is due to air, next week, on May 7th.

The times to take note of are: 7am Pacific / 10am Eastern / 3pm UK / 4pm CET. (You best set your alarm clocks, West Coast).

Splatoon is Nintendo’s newest IP with a focus on Online Multiplayer. It’s unique take on the whole “territory capturing” gameplay certainly caught our attention last E3. The idea of morphing into squids and swimming through your own dispersed ink is truly novel. Since then, Nintendo haven’t been shy when it comes to dishing out more information. Not only have we had details about the online modes, we’ve also been informed of:

  • A single player campaign
  • Local multiplayer
  • amiibo support
  • A wealth of customisation.

Will there be any surprises left in store for us? Will they announce any new modes? More amiibo support? What about a complete 180 on their decision with voice chat?

Guess we’ll have to wait until next week to find out. Will you be tuning in? Let us know what you’re expecting in the comments below.

About David Rawlings

David Rawlings, or ‘Rawky’ as we like to call him, joined the Operation Rainfall Campaign at the beginning. He’s British and found solace with us as he was able to understand our pain about Nintendo and their localizing faux pas. He’s a big fan of the letter ‘U’ and refuses to remove them from words, even though we constantly ask him to. He also believes it’s about time Princess Daisy got kidnapped.